International Federation of Digital Seismograph Networks

5G (2018-2020): Lake Eyre Basin

Are you the operator of this network? Update this information.

FDSN Network Information

FDSN code 5G (2018-2020) Network name Lake Eyre Basin (Lake Eyre)
Start year 2018 Operated by
  • Australian National University (ANU, Australia)
End year 2020 Deployment region -

The Lake Eyre Basin project is comprised of 40 seismometers surrounding Kati Thanda–Lake Eyre, the lowest point in Australia. The array is configured similar to an inverted triangle following (i) the Birdsville Track east of Lake Eyre, (ii) across the Simpson Desert along the border between South Australia and Northern Territory, (iii) west of Lake Eyre along the Oodnadatta Track from Maree to Finke. The array was designed to investigate the spatial extent and nature of the continental boundary between the Gawler Craton and Lake Eyre Basin. In addition, the northern transect places broadband seismometers for the first time in the Simpson Desert, where a M6.4 earthquake occurred in 1941 close to Poeppel’s Corner.
Sensors used during this project include Trillium Compact 120s (broadband) and LE-3Dlite (short period). For digitizers, the TerraSAWR and LPR-200 ANU seismic recorders were deployed. Data was sampled at 100Hz.

Citation Information

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)
For more: DataCite ( JSON | XML | BibTeX )

Data Access

Data Availability
Loading data availability information...

FDSN Web Services provide a common data access API for seismic data.

Availability based on irisws-fedcatalog service.
Full fedcatalog information for this network

Stations in this Network