International Federation of Digital Seismograph Networks

4N (2017-2022): China-Western Australia Seismic array

You must be logged in to request updates to this network.

FDSN Network Information

FDSN code 4N (2017-2022) Network name China-Western Australia Seismic array (CWAS)
Start year 2017 Operated by
  • Macquarie University, Australia
End year 2022 Deployment region -

This is a temporary broadband seismic array along the northwestern coastal region of Western Australia, operated by Macquarie University, Geological Survey of Western Australia, and the Institute of Geology and Geophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. The target is the lithospheric structure of this part of Australia, whose formation and evolution history spans from ~3.2 Ga to very recent during the Neo-Tethys ocean opening ~140 Ma.

There are 3 phases of the deployments of several linear arrays. The first two phases are already finished, which is composed of 60 sites. The 3rd phase is going to be deployed in the second half of 2020, and will last for a year. This phase will be composed of 40 sites.

Citation Information

Digital Object Identifier (DOI) 10.7914/SN/4N_2017
For more: DataCite ( JSON | XML | BibTeX )

Data Access

Data Availability
Loading data availability information...

FDSN Web Services provide a common data access API for seismic data.

Availability based on irisws-fedcatalog service.
Full fedcatalog information for this network

Additional Notes The dataset is expected to go public in ~2023 to 2024, 2 years after the field deployment is done (in 2021).

Stations in this Network