International Federation of Digital Seismograph Networks

4F (2015-2019): North Texas Earthquake Study: Venus (Johnson County), TX

Are you the operator of this network? Update this information.

FDSN Network Information

FDSN code 4F (2015-2019) Operated by Southern Methodist University (SMU TX)
Network name North Texas Earthquake Study: Venus (Johnson County), TX (Venus, TX) Deployment region United States of America
Start year 2015 End year 2019
Short description

Recent earthquakes in North Texas have raised scientific questions about the nature of these sequences and local and national concerns about the impact of shale gas production on infrastructure and subsurface structures. The 4F network stations record seismicity associated with the 2015 M4.0 Venus, TX, earthquake sequences. Instrumentation is provided in part by the US Geological Survey, the Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS), and University of Texas Institute for Geophysics. SMU PIs: Heather DeShon, Chris Hayward, Brian Stump, M. Beatrice Magnani and Matt Hornbach. UTIG PI: Jake Walter. Financial support for the study has been provided by the USGS, TexNet via the Univ. of Texas BEG, SMU and UTIG.

Citation Information

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)
Heather DeShon, Chris Hayward, Jacob Walter, M. Beatrice Magnani, Matthew Hornbach, Brian Stump (2015): North Texas Earthquake Study: Venus (Johnson County), TX. International Federation of Digital Seismograph Networks. Dataset/Seismic Network. 10.7914/SN/4F_2015

Data Access

Data Availability
Loading data availability information...

FDSN Web Services provide a common data access API for seismic data.

Availability based on irisws-fedcatalog service.
Full fedcatalog information for this network

Stations in this Network